The mansion of merchant Naum Dolgin, built in 1874


The Loyev museum of the battle for the Dnepr keeps 300 unique exponents of the Great Patriotic War. Among them are the pictures, letters, wall newspapers and other materials featuring the feats of the heroes of the Dnepr forced crossing.

 
gomel loev rechitsa yurovichi mozir turov red_coast chechersk vetka info

Loyev is situated on the Dnepr River on the border with Ukraine. Throughout the centuries the Dnepr played an essential role in the town’s history as it connects the northern seas with the Black Sea basin, Scandinavia and Byzantium.

In the old days it was a route which earned a place in history as “the way from the Vikings to the Greek”. It was the main reason why the lands along the Dnepr were colonized. More so, the territory was the bone of contention for many centuries between the Moscow state and the Grand Duchy of Lithuania.

The Loyev region was the scene of devastating battles. The ford through the Dnepr around Loyev was used by the Crimean Tatars in their raids to the Belarusian lands. Consequently the villages and towns on the right bank of the river fell their first victims. The first mention of Loyev in the historical chronicles in 1505 is connected with the similar event when the Tatars after burning the town down went further in the country – to Mir castle and Slutsk.

Loyev has preserved the historical buildings, in particular – the mansion of merchant Naum Dolgin built in 1847. The building is inscribed on the republican register of architectural values. The restoration works of the unique building took seven years and were completed by the 500th anniversary of Loyev marked on October 17, 2004. The building now houses the regional and children’s libraries and also the regional culture department.

One of the pages of the Loyev history is connected with the Great Patriotic War. During the fascist occupation the region turned into a partisan land. Covered with glory is the forced crossing of the Dnepr by the Red Army near Loyev in 1943. In 1985 the town opened a museum in honour of the battle for the Dnepr.

  Curious facts...
  • - The major battle of the Cossack War 1648-1651 between the forces loyal to Ukrainian hetman Bohdan Khmelnitskiy and Polish chancellor Yanush Radzivill took place on June 31, 1649 near Loyev. It went down in the history books as the Loyev battle. It was the starting point of the historical reunification of Ukraine and Russia.
  • - The estate and the park dated back to the first half of the 19th century in the village Sutkovo, Loyev region is on the list of historical-cultural values of Belarus. The building was constructed in the early 19th century (approx. 1810) presumably by a Russian architect since it reveals the tendencies peculiar to the Russian architecture school. At the end of the century the building was acquired by countess Baranovskaya who together with her husband serving at the emperor’s court used to come here “to take the waters” preferring the Loyev region to the then fancy Karlsbad (Karlovy Vary).
 
 
     

Development, informational and technical support: BELTA, 2006

Дом купца Наума Долгина, построенный в 1874 году.


В лоевском музей битвы за Днепр хранится около 3000 уникальных экспонатов времён Великой Отечественной войны. Здесь также представлены фотографии, боевые листки, стенгазеты и другие материалы, раскрывающие подвиги героев форсирования Днепра.

Гомель Лоев Речица Юровичи Мозырь Туров Красный Берег Чечерск Ветка Справочная информация

Лоев стоит на Днепре на границе с Украиной. Основан в XV веке. Вся многовековая история Лоевщины связана с Днепром, связывающим северные моря с Черноморским бассейном, т.е. Скандинавию и Византию.

В древности это был торговый путь, который вошел в историю под названием "путь из варяг в греки". Он являлся и основной причиной колонизации земель Поднепровья. А еще эта территория несколько столетий являлась приграничной, своеобразным "яблоком раздора" между Московским государством и Великим княжеством Литовским.

Не раз и не два Лоевщина становилась ареной кровопролитных боевых действий, опустошавших край. Переправу через Днепр в районе Лоева постоянно использовали крымские татары во время набегов на белорусские земли. Естественно, населенные пункты на правом берегу реки становились их первыми жертвами. И даже первое летописное упоминание о Лоеве, относящееся к 1505 году, связано с аналогичным событием, когда город был сожжен до тла, а войска татар направились в глубь страны - к Мирскому замку и к Слуцку.

В Лоеве сохранились исторические постройки, в частности – дом купца Наума Долгина, построенный в 1847 году. Здание занесено в Республиканский реестр памятников архитектуры. Реставрация этого уникального памятника длилась семь лет и завершилась к 500-летию Лоева, которое отмечали 17 октября 2004 года. Сейчас в этом здании расположены районная и детская библиотеки, а также районный отдел культуры.

Одна из страниц истории Лоева связана с Великой Отечественной войной. Во время фашистской оккупации здесь был партизанский край. Овеяно славой форсирование Красной Армией Днепра в районе Лоева в 1943 году. В память об этом в городе в 1985 году был открыт музей битвы за Днепр.

   
  ЭТО ИНТЕРЕСНО...
  • 31 июля 1649 года возле Лоева произошла самая крупная битва казацко-крестьянской войны 1648--1651 гг. между войсками украинского гетмана Богдана Хмельницкого и польского канцлера Януша Радзивилла, которая вошла в историю под названием Лоевская битва. Она положила начало историческому воссоединению Украины с Россией.
  • Усадебно-парковый ансамбль первой половины XIX века в деревне Сутково Лоевского района включён в государственный список историко-культурных ценностей Беларуси. Здание было построено в начале XIX века (примерно в 1810 г.), предположительно русским архитектором – чётко просматривается русская школа зодчества. К концу века здание стало собственностью графини Барановской, которая вместе с мужем, служившим при императорском дворе, приезжала сюда "на воды", предпочитая Лоевщину популярному тогда Карлсбаду (Карловым Варам).
 
     
             

Разработка, информационное и техническое обеспечение: БЕЛТА, 2006