In Rechitsa’s district Dneprovskiy, on the bank of the Dnepr, there is a chapel in memory of a three-day stay of the vessel which transported the holy relics of Yefrosinya of Polotsk from Kiev to Polotsk in 1912.

 
gomel loev rechitsa yurovichi mozir turov red_coast chechersk vetka info

Rechitsa is one of the oldest towns of Belarus. First settlements in this region are dated back to the epoch of mesolite (9-5th centuries B.C.). Later on the area was inhabited by the Dregovichi tribe. The town was first mentioned in the Novgorod chronicle in 1213 as a town of the Chernigov Principality. Rechitsa was also ruled by Kiev and Turov Grand Dukes.

At the time of Gedimin reign (1311-1341) the town was annexed to the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. Rechitsa as well as Orsha, Shklov, Mogilev, Staryi Bykhov and Rogachev formed a well-developed frontier defense system at the River Dnepr.

1392-1430 – the reign of Grand Duke Vitovt. He constructed a fortified castle with five towers in the area of the detinets /old Belarusian for the downtown/ on the bank of the Dnepr. At that time the town had three fortification lines in the form of water trenches and ramparts with bastions. In the area between the fortress and the second fortification line there was a territory for rich mansions, Church of the Order of Friars Preachers and a trade square. The town inhabitants settled lived between the second and third fortification lines. The construction of the town had clear right-angled forms.

In 1561 the town was partially granted the Magdeburg law.

In the middle of the 17th century Rechitsa was practically destroyed during the Cossack war of 1648-1651. After the Truce of Anrusovo the town became a part of Rzecz Pospolita. In 1793 Rechitsa joined Russia and became an uezd center of the Minsk province.

The first permanent town plan of Rechitsa was approved in 1800. During the Patriotic War in 1812 the town was a temporary residence of the Minsk governor.

Today Rechitsa – a town of Belarusian oil industry - is an industrial and cultural center of Gomel oblast.

Rechitsa products are well known in the CIS member-states as well as in other countries. Rechitsa produces watercrafts, furniture, beer, which are exported to England, Germany, the Netherlands, Sweden and several African countries.

  Curious facts... Today there is a beautiful park in the place of the former monastery of the Order of Friars Preachers. Together with the central square and the castle - former fortress, the park today makes a picturesque recuperation zone. Modern town-planning does not break the traditional town design.  
 
     

Development, informational and technical support: BELTA, 2006

В речицком микрорайоне Днепровском, на берегу Днепра, установлена стела-каплица в память об трёхдневной остановке судна, перевозившего Святые мощи Ефросиньи Полоцкой из Киева в Полоцк в 1912 году.

Гомель Лоев Речица Юровичи Мозырь Туров Красный Берег Чечерск Ветка Справочная информация

Речица - один из старейших городов Беларуси. Первые поселения в этих краях относятся к эпохе мезолита (9-5 тысячелетия до н.э.). В дальнейшем местность населяли дреговичи. Впервые город упоминается в Новгородской летописи в 1213 году, как город Черниговского княжества. Речицей владели также киевские и туровские князья.

Во времена княжения Гедимина (1310-1341 гг.) город вошел в состав Великого княжества Литовского. Вместе с Оршей, Шкловом, Могилевом, Старым Быховом, Рогачевом Речица входила в развитую систему пограничной обороны на Днепре.

С 1392 по 1430 гг. городом владел князь Витовт. Он построил в Речице на месте детинца XIII в. укреплённый замок, который располагался на крутом берегу Днепра и имел 5 башен. Город того времени имел три линии укреплений, состоявших изо рвов с водой и валов с бастионами. Между крепостью и второй линией укреплений размещались хоромы богатых граждан, доминиканский костел и торговая площадь. Между второй и третьей линиями укреплений селились горожане. Застройка города велась по плану, который имел четкие прямоугольные формы.

С 1561 г. город получил частичное магдебурское право.

В середине XVII в. Речица была сильно разрушена в результате казацко-крестянской войны 1648-1651 гг. По условиям Андрусовского перемирия город остался за Речью Посполитой. И только в 1793 г. Речица была присоединена к России, стала уездным центром Минской губернии.

Первый регулярный план Речицы был утвержден в 1800 году. Во время Отечественной войны 1812 г. город являлся временной резиденцией Минского губернатора.

В 1910 г. Речица стала одним из мест остановки эскадры, перевозившей из Киева в Полоцк мощи Ефросинии Полоцкой. Сейчас город белорусских нефтяников Речица - промышленный и культурный центр Гомельской области.

Продукция с речицкой маркой хорошо известна не только в странах СНГ, но и далёкого зарубежья. Это - суда, мебель, пиво, метизы. Их экспортируют в Англию, ФРГ, Голландию, Швецию, ряд государств Африки.

   
  ЭТО ИНТЕРЕСНО... На городских землях, которые в прошлом были заняты доминиканским монастырем, ныне расположен парк. Вместе с центральным сквером, озелененным замчищем - бывшей крепостью с остатками валов и прибрежной полосой - они образуют живописную зону отдыха. Традиционные черты планировки центра города, "опирающегося" на реку Днепр, закреплены современной градостроительной практикой.  
     
             

Разработка, информационное и техническое обеспечение: БЕЛТА, 2006