For a long time pilgrims from Belarus as well as from entire Russia came to the temple of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin Mary to worship the wonderworking icon. In the photo: icon copy of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin Mary, which now decorates this architectural monument.

 
gomel loev rechitsa yurovichi mozir turov red_coast chechersk vetka info

People started inhabiting Eastern Polesye some 50 thousand years ago. The settlement in the village Yurovichi of the Kalinkovichi region which is almost 25 thousand years old can be cited as an excellent example. In 1929 local people discovered strange bones that appeared to be mammoth. The archeological dig in the place discovered the settlement. In the 1970s five more settlements were found: three are dated back to the late Stone Age and settlements of the 6-8th centuries A.D.

Later on the archeologists discovered the remains of a big medieval town (9th -10th centuries). It is unknown why it had not been mentioned in the chronicles.

Yurovichi is known for their Jesuitical collegium with the monumental Roman-Catholic Church of the 18th century. The construction of the temple of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin Mary in the place where the icon was found took 40 years. For a long time pilgrims from Belarus as well as from entire Russia came to worship the wonderworking icon. The famous icon was stolen; today it is in the Polish town of Krakow, in the Roman-Catholic Church of Barbara Great Martyr. From the beginning of the last century the temple was used for various purposes and remained neglected for more than 60 years. It is just recently that the nuns have settled there taking care of the architectural monument.

  Curious facts... Yurovichi is home to the highest and largest ancient ruins in the whole Belarus. If you climb the highest ruin, you will be able to see Mozyr that lies some 20 kilometers away.  
 
     

Development, informational and technical support: BELTA, 2006

Храм в честь Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы долгое время был местом паломничества не только белорусов – для исцеления чудотворной иконой сюда приезжали со всей Руси. На снимке: копия иконы Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы, которая сейчас украшает этот памятник архитектуры.

Гомель Лоев Речица Юровичи Мозырь Туров Красный Берег Чечерск Ветка Справочная информация

Восточное Полесье люди начали заселять 50 тыс. лет тому назад, и ярким подтверждением тому является стоянка людей в деревне Юровичи Калинковичского района, которой почти 25 тыс. лет. В 1929 году местные жители обнаружили странные кости, которые оказались мамонтовыми. На месте были проведены масштабные раскопки, в результате которых и была обнаружена эта стоянка. В 1970-х годах вокруг деревни нашли еще пять поселений: три - неолитических, селище банцеровской культуры (VI - VIII века нашей эры).

Но и это еще не все. Здесь же были обнаружены остатки большого средневекового города (IX-X вв.). Неизвестно, почему он впоследствии исчез, почему не упоминается в летописях.

Знамениты Юровичи и своим былым иезуитским коллегиумом с монументальным костёлом XVIII в. Храм в честь Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы строился на протяжении 40 лет на месте обнаружения этой иконы, и долгое время затем был местом паломничества не только белорусов – для исцеления чудотворной иконой сюда приезжали со всей Руси. Позже знаменитая икона была похищена, и теперь она находится в польском городе Кракове, в костёле Варвары Великомученицы. А храм с начала прошлого века использовался для различных целей, а затем на протяжении 60 лет вообще был бесхозным. И только в последние несколько лет здесь обосновались монахини, которые в меру своих возможностей сохраняют памятник архитектуры.

   
  ЭТО ИНТЕРЕСНО... Таких высоких холмов, как в Юровичах, пожалуй, нет во всей Беларуси. Если подняться на их вершину и повезет с погодой, то можно, увидеть город Мозырь, расположенный отсюда в 20 км.  
     
             

Разработка, информационное и техническое обеспечение: БЕЛТА, 2006